New Post Series: Dinner Tonight!

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I am on a constant quest to make healthy = easy! Whether it’s workouts, nutrition, mindfulness, you name it, I try to make it simpler and achievable for the everyday mom (me).   One commitment I make to my family is that I will put delicious AND nutritious food on our table (OK, at least like 90% of the time!).  I am often asked what I do for meals and how I find the time!  Well, enter the new Soap4Squares blog series: Dinner Tonight!  Every week I’ll post a new recipe that I find easy, healthy, at least somewhat quick, and affordable!  And yes, I am actually serving this to my family so it’s been taste tested and approved for work-week time frames!  If you don’t like it, tough!  There’s always next week!!  I keed, I keed!

*Let me just apologize in advance for my food photography!  It’s a work in progress 🙂

Week 1: Lemon Garlic Tilapia with Quinoa Polenta

If you don’t like fish, well 1. Sorry! :/ and 2.  Tilapia is wonderful at taking on the flavors of what you cook it with so give it a try! 🙂

Ingredients:

4 fresh tilapia fillets

olive oil/coconut oil

1/4 onion, sliced thin

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 lemon, sliced thin

1 bunch fresh herbs (I used thyme and sage, feel free to use whatever you fancy!)

4 oz fresh grated parmesan cheese

salt & pepper (to taste)

1 quinoa polenta log (you can get this in your grocery store’s rice/pasta aisle! – a great healthy short cut!)

aluminum foil

Instructions: 

1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.

2. Place each tilapia filet in the center of its own square of aluminum foil (make sure the foil squares are large enough to form a packet around each piece of fish!)

3. Sprinkle each fillet with salt, pepper, and minced garlic.

4. Lay 2-3 thin slices of lemon down the length of each tilapia filet.

5. Lay fresh herbs and sliced onions on top of/around the filets.

6. Sprinkle each filet with approximately 1oz of parmesan cheese.

7. Fold aluminum foil around the fish to form a packet.  This will steam/bake the fish and keep all the delish flavors inside!

8.  Place in the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until the fish flakes easily with a fork.

 While the fish is cooking, start on the polenta quinoa.

1. Remove the quinoa polenta log from it’s wrapper and cut into 1/2 inch slices.

2. Melt your olive or coconut oil in a saute pan over medium heat.  Once hot (water will sizzle if sprinkled into the pan), add your quinoa polenta to the pan in a single layer.  Don’t crowd your pan!

3.  Fry on each side until the patties are a golden brown color and a slight crust forms.  Remove from heat.

 

Remove your fish from the oven, serve in the foil packets or remove to a plate.  Add your quinoa polenta and dinner is served!!

Easy Peasy 🙂

Annnd, it packages well for lunch the next day!  Can this get any better??! Well, to be honest, it probably could but it’s pretty darn good!

A little note of warning, while it packages well for lunch, your coworkers may not entirely love you when you reheat it and it stinks up the lunch room.  Not that this has happened to me or anything.  Just sayin.

Stop by next week for a new recipe!  Keep it anything but square with Soap4Squares!

 

 

Leave a Reply

