Masterbatching and Mass Production

There’s been a lot of chatter in the soapy community lately about masterbatching oils and lye water.   As a small scale soaper, I never had the need or material quantities on hand to accomplish such a task.  Over the past year, however, business has steadily grown and I now find myself ordering big ‘ole buckets and drums of oils and soapy materials.  I now see the benefit of having everything pre-mixed!  (Ever lifted a 35lb bucket of coconut oil onto a table?  No bueno.)

alltheoils

So, I got to it.  I got out all my oils needed for my basic soap and basic shaving soap recipes…

IMG_4099

I melted oils one by one…

IMG_4085

And mixed ’em up in a big ‘ole 5 gallon bucket ($2 and change at Home Depot).

The process itself wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be, although it did take time.  I did not master batch my lye water; I wanted to try one mass-production project at a time!

Once all my oils were mixed, the rest of the day went very quickly!  I prepped molds, protected my surface (old brown paper grocery bags…upcycle kids!!)

IMG_4084

And churned out nine 5 pound batches of soap before 2pm!  I was at that moment convinced!  Masterbatching is a great resource for mass production of soap!

IMG_4088

As I was about half-way through my soaping day, I got a knock on the door…

bramblebox1bramblebox2

It was a fantastic order of soapy supplies!!  Oh what a morning! Included in this shipment was a 35lb bucket of Bramble Berry Lots of Lather quick mix…i.e. oils that are already masterbatched for you!!  The ingredients listed in their mix are very similar to my personal recipe so I decided to give it a try.  Well, I loved it!  I saved time and effort and ended up with a soap batter that soaped beautifully!

Here are bars from each batch of oils…both swirled and soaped like magic!

freshsnow1 sagelemongrassswirls

I will continue to masterbatch my own oils for shaving soap and a few other soap recipes that I have created for specific purposes however; the quick mix oils are a great resource for the new soaper or for the veteran who wants a basic recipe and doesn’t want to put in the hours it takes to masterbatch their own basic bar blend!

Want to try one of our soap bars for yourself?  Check out our Etsy store online!  New soaps added all the time (well, every couple weeks hehe)!  Bars from this post will be available late July 2013!

-Soap4Squares

If you are mass-producing soap, or just want to save time, and you are interested in masterbatching your soap oils, lye water, or fragrances, Efficiency in Scaling from Amathia Soapworks is a fantastic resource!  Masterbatching is more than just mixing oils in a big bucket (as it may seem in this post) so make sure you read up and are prepared before attempting something of this scale!

2 thoughts on “Masterbatching and Mass Production

Leave a Reply

